• info@bvhs.org
  • (239) 274-6700

 

Athletic Eligibility

Every student-athlete who wishes to participate in any of the 21 team sports offered at Bishop Verot High School must have a complete athletic eligibility packet on file with the Athletics Department. The packet includes documents required per the Florida High School Athletic Association and the Diocese of Venice.  For a complete packet, please click here.  

Athletic Directory

 

John Gulley

Athletic Director

john.gulley@bvhs.org

(239) 274-6712

Jessica Cole

Administrative Assistant 

jessica.cole@bvhs.org

(239) 274-6755

Hans Smelker

Trainer

trainer@bvhs.org

(239) 274-6749

Fall Athletics

 Bill Shields

Football

bill.shields@bvhs.org

 (239) 274-6779

Jeremy Ridgeo

Volleyball

volleyball@bvhs.org

 

Andy Scott

(M) Golf

boys.golf@bvhs.org

 

 Ed Lockard

(W) Golf

girls.golf@bvhs.org 

 

Kevin Jordan

Cross Country

kevin.jordan@bvhs.org

 

Heidi Nychek

Cheerleading

cheerleading@bvhs.org

 

Jason Baumgardner

Swimming/Diving

boys.swimming@bvhs.org 

 

Winter Athletics

Matt Herting

(M) Basketball

matt.herting@bvhs.org

(239) 274-6752

Mark Kramer

(W) Basketball

girls.basketball@bvhs.org

 

Michael Larrea

(M) Soccer

boys.soccer@bvhs.org

 

Randy Zavada

(W) Soccer

girls.soccer@bvhs.org

 

Spring Athletics

David Nelson

Baseball

david.nelson@bvhs.org

(239) 274-6731

Pablo Plaza

Softball

softball@bvhs.org

 

Kevin Jordan

Track & Field

boys.trackfield@bvhs.org or

kevin.jordan@bvhs.org

 

Gary Neese

(M) Lacrosse

boys.lacrosse@bvhs.org

 

John Phillips

(W) Lacrosse

john.phillips@bvhs.org

 

Mark Latell

(M) Tennis

mark.lattell@bvhs.org

 

Mary Gibson

(W) Tennis

girls.tennis@bvhs.org

 

Fall Sports

JV/Freshmen Football
Varsity Football 
JV Volleyball
Varsity Volleyball

Winter Sports

Girls' JV Soccer
Girls' Varsity Soccer
Boys' JV Soccer
Boys' Varsity Soccer
Girls' JV Basketball
Girls' Varsity Basketball
Freshmen Boys' Basketball
Boys' JV Basketball
Boys' Varsity Basketball

Spring Sports 

Baseball
Developmental Team
JV Team
Varsity
Lacrosse
JV Softball
Varsity Softball
Boys' Tennis 
Girls' Tennis
Track & Field                                                                                                             

Athletic Hall of Fame

Selection Criteria

Criteria for Selecting Induction Class

Individuals nominated must represent one of the following four categories:   

  1. Athlete/Alumni: Any person who has distinguished himself/herself in the field of athletics while a student at Bishop Verot Catholic High School. Considerations should include All-State recognition, All-American recognition, Pro Selection, outstanding college accomplishments, and college scholarship recipient or college participant. The first year of eligibility for nominees is the ten-year anniversary of the nominees year of graduation. Other considerations may be taken into account but may not take the place of the above criteria. Alumni that distinguish themselves after graduation but did not participate in sports while at Bishop Verot are not eligible.
     
  2. Coach: Any coach with at least 7 years of service at Bishop Verot Catholic High School and 15 years of coaching experience can be nominated. The nominees must be inactive to be eligible for consideration. Criteria are based on accomplishments that merit statewide recognition as well as significant contributions to the athletic programs at Bishop Verot Catholic High School.
     
  3. Contributor: Any individual who has made outstanding contributions to the interscholastic athletic programs at Bishop Verot Catholic High School (other than coaching or playing) are eligible for nomination.
     
  4. Teams: Members of State Championship teams will be specially honored by the Hall of Fame and invited to return to Sports Banquets as a team on significant anniversary years.

Requirements for Nomination

  1. Nominees must exemplify the highest standards of sportsmanship, ethical conduct and moral character.
     
  2. All candidates will be judged on their significant and/or long-term contributions to athletic endeavors.
     
  3. Acknowledged leadership in his/her chosen field or community, state and or national presence will be considered. 

Nominating Procedures

  1. Inductees may be nominated either by the selection committee, by current faculty, administration, staff; and by current members of the community or by alumnus.
     
  2. Nominations should be accompanied by a nomination form,  letter of recommendation, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, etc., and a current photograph.

For the Class of 2016 Atheltic Hall of Fame Nomination Form, please click here

All questions and nominations should be forwarded to Mike Gill '68, Director of Alumni Relations at mike.gill@bvhs.org or (239)274-6745.

Bishop Verot Athletic Hall of Fame
c/o Mike Gill
5598 Sunrise Drive
Fort Myers, FL 33919