• info@bvhs.org
  • (239) 274-6700

Campus Ministry 

Every member of the faculty, staff and administration at Bishop Verot is a minister called to contribute to the religious and spiritual mission of the school.  With this in mind, the purpose of the Office of Campus Ministry is to act as a spiritual resource for members of the student body, faculty and staff, and provide leadership by planning and implementing the school's religious calendar and programs.  School Masses, retreats, days of recollection, penance services, service projects, prayer sessions, and other spiritual exercises for the school community are organized by the Office of Campus Ministry in consultation with the principal.

Under the supervision of the Dean of Student Services, the Office of Campus Ministry can provide pastoral counseling, advising, and spiritual direction, providing referrals to other staff members such as the guidance counselors when appropriate. 

In conjunction with the Dean of Student Activities, the Office of Campus Ministry organizes service projects and student retreats that take place off campus and enhance student life and spirituality.  The Ministry Team is an organization of students who wish to assist in these endeavors and provide opportunities for students to minister to students.  Every effort shall be made to involve students, staff, and whenever possible, parents in the planning and implementation of all spiritual activities.  
                                                                                                      
Roman Catholic students are encouraged to have celebrated their Sacraments of Initiation by graduation.  Any student who has not celebrated the Sacrament of Confirmation is invited to visit the Office of Campus Ministry to discuss this sacrament and its importance to his or her life in faith.  Any student interested in becoming a member of the Catholic Church is encouraged to speak with a member of the faculty or an Oblate to learn about the process of Christian Initiation.  The Office of Campus Ministry takes care to make sure that student's religious traditions are respected in its efforts to create a Catholic environment. 

The Director of Campus Ministry is Ms. Olivia Macke.  Please feel free to e-mail her with questions at olivia.macke@bvhs.org.

Celebrating our Catholic Faith

Bishop Verot is pleased to announce the addition of  Fr. Murchadh O'Madagain as Chaplain. 

 

 

In addition to daily prayer in the classroom, Mass is celebrated weekly during the Flex period, every Monday and Thursday, as well as Tuesday mornings at 7:00 a.m. in the Chapel.  The first Friday of the month there is Adoration in the Chapel. During Adoration, theology classes visit the Chapel for some quiet reflection and prayer. Mass is also offered on Friday after school in preparation for the football game. 

The School Mass is celebrated at St. Cecelia Church and the schedule for the 2015-2016 school year is as follows: 

Tuesday, August 18th at 1:00 p.m. (Bishop Dewane officiating)
Monday, September 21st at 9:45 a.m.
Monday, October 5th at 9:45 a.m. 
Monday, November 30th - Advent Prayer Service
Tuesday, December 8th at 9:58 a.m. (Feast of the Immaculate Conception)
Friday, January 8th at 10:16 a.m.
Monday, January 25th at  9:45 a.m.
Monday, February 1st at 9:45 a.m. (Catholic Schools Week)
Wednesday, March 16th at 9:58 a.m.
Friday, March 18th - Stations of the Cross
Friday, April 8th at 10:16 a.m. 
Thursday, May 12th at 10:16 a.m. 
 
LIVE + JESUS Retreat
The Live Jesus Retreat, a three day retreat led by Senior leaders and staff, takes place twice a school year. This retreat is an elective retreat and is open to Juniors and Seniors. This life-changing retreat is often what our alumni refer to as one of the best experiences of their high school years. This years retreats are scheduled for: 
November 5-8, 2015
March 3-6, 2016
 
Christian Service

As the gap between the rich and the poor expands worldwide, it is Bishop Verot’s goal to teach our students to fight for social justice and embrace the marginalized of our society. Through religion class, retreats, Mass and prayer we strive everyday to instill Christ’s love and compassion in our students and the entire Verot Family.

One of the greatest ways to impact and improve the larger community is through Christian service. Verot’s active Christian service policy holds each student responsible for their role in changing society. They must complete a minimum of 60 Christian service points centered on “hands on” and direct experience with those in need. When we are exposed to the injustices that surmount our society and can truly identify with the marginalized, we seek change. Our hope is that every student will have a life changing experience that drives them to continue to serve the greater community beyond their time at Bishop Verot.

Last year alone our students completed over 25,000 Christian service hours. The difference one person can make is significant, but the difference an entire community can make is overwhelming. As a Catholic school, our students should not only be ranked by their academic successes, but by their engagement with the marginalized of our society. It is our hope that our Christian service policy helps to plant the seed of faith and love in the students of Bishop Verot.

Please Download the Christian Service Form.

* Service Hour due dates for the 2015-2016 school year are: 

             Juniors and Seniors - February 2, 2016

             Freshman and Sophomore - May 2, 2016

 

Clubs/Activities

With 50 extracurricular clubs, activities, and athletic teams, students at Bishop Verot are sure to find something that interests them! Below is a list of the 2014-15 clubs and activities.  If you would like more information about a specific club, simply email the moderator to learn more about their respective club or activity!

Club/Activity

Moderator/Email Contact

Meetings

Academic Quiz Team (A-Team)

Mrs. Lori Shriner lori.shriner@bvhs.org

Wednesday (Every other)

After School Band

Mr. Garth Steger garth.steger@bvhs.org

Tuesday (Weekly)

American Sign Language (ASL)

Mrs. Lori Timson lori.timson@bvhs.org

Tuesdays during FLEX (every other) 

Art Club

Mrs. Marjorie Bronsted marjorie.bronsted@bvhs.org

Tuesday (Weekly) 

Athletic Training 

Mr. Hans Smelker

hans.smelker@bvhs.org

Friday (Weekly)

Bishop Verot Players

Ms. Lisa Stevens lisa.stevens@bvhs.org

Monday-Friday during Fall/Spring Productions

Bowling Club

Mrs. Lori Shriner

lori.shriner@bvhs.org

Mrs. Michele Vocu 

michele.vocu@bvhs.org

Thursdays (2nd of each month)

Catholics in Action

(Mission Club) 

Olivia Macke

olivia.macke@bvhs.org

Wednesdays (Every other) 

Chess Club

Mr. Mark Latell mark.latell@bvhs.org

Fridays during FLEX

Choir Club

Miss Lisa Stevens

lisa.stevens@bvhs.org

Thursdays (weekly) 

Creative Writing Club

Mr. Clayton Atkins clayton.atkins@bvhs.org

 

Debate Club

Mrs. Lynn Knox lynn.knox@bvhs.org

Wednesdays (Weekly)

Drumline

Mr. Garth Steger garth.steger@bvhs.org

Monday, Wednesday, Friday (Weekly)

Enviromental Club

Mrs. Joelle Bergau joelle.bergau@bvhs.org

Thursday (Every other)

French Club

Mrs. Anna Benitez anna.benitez@bvhs.org

Thursdays during FLEX

Horns and Swords

Mr. Matt Herting matt.herting@bvhs.org

Mr. Matt Burbach matt.burbach@bvh.org

Mondays (Every other)

International Club 

Mrs. Lynn Knox lynn.knox@bvhs.org

Fridays during FLEX

Mock Trial

Mrs. Diedre Cook

diedre.cook@bvhs.org

Thursdays during FLEX

Model United Nations

Mr. Jason Scott jason.scott@bvhs.org 

 

Tuesdays during FLEX

Mu Alpha Theta (Math Club)

Mrs. Catherine Elliot catherine.elliot@bvhs.org

Fridays (1st and 3rd of each month)

National Honor Society

Mrs. Mary Dakin mary.dakin@bvhs.org

Mrs. Mary Kistel mary.kistel@bvhs.org

Monday (Weekly)

Spanish National Honor Society

Mrs. Alesia Ruby alesia.ruby@bvhs.org

Thursday during FLEX (1st of the month)

Student Government (SGA)

Officer List 

Mr. James Orr

james.orr@bvhs.org

Mrs. Katie Schlotterbeck

katie.schlotterbeck@bvhs.org

Thursdays (Weekly)

STEM Team

Mr. Kurt Prey kurt.prey@bvhs.org

 

WHO Club

Mrs. Katie Davis katie.davis@bvhs.org

Tuesday (Every other)

 

Dean of Students

Welcome to Bishop Verot Catholic High School. If you are a returning student you are familiar with our policies and the many educational and co-curricular activities that are available to you. Please familiarize yourself with any changes for the start of the new school year.  If you are a new student, we encourage you to become familiar with all that Bishop Verot has to offer. We ask that you thoroughly read through our student policies and become familiar with the various rules and regulations that you will be held accountable for. We are willing to assist you whenever possible. Do not hesitate to ask questions!

Dean of Students                                Asst Dean of Students

Mr. David Nelson                                Mr. John Nolan

(239) 274-6742                                   (239) 274-6778

David.Nelson@BVHS.org                   John.Nolan@BVHS.org

 

Student Handbook

Student Handbook Signature Form

Student Handbook

School Dress Code 

Click Here for the school dress code or see the Student Handbook section on dress code.

Zavada's Renegades Sportswear is the official uniform supplier for Bishop Verot Catholic High School.  Visit the online store at www.renegadesfl.com.

Address:  17051 Jean Street Unit 10, Fort Myers, FL 33967               Phone:  239-275-6720

Store Hours:  Monday-Thursday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and  Friday 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Homecoming Information

Homecoming Dance Dress Code

Dance Permission Slip For Guest

Prom Information

For Prom Dress Code information, click Here.

Click Here for the Non-Verot Date Form.

Academic Honor Policy

Click Here for the Academic Honor and Integrity Policy at Bishop Verot or see the Student Handbook section.

Vehicle Registration for Parking Pass Form

Student Parking Pass Vehicle Registration Form

Smith Library 

Click here to go to the Smith Library Portal. 

2015-2016 Bell Schedule

Please click here for the Bell Schedule.

Senior Portraits 

Seniors, it is time for you to schedule your photo session with our photographer, Mr. Craig Hildebrand. Please click here for information regarding your senior pictures. Please schedule your photo session at https://booknow.appointment-plus.com/3x13c566/.